About Us Directory Members Only Join Contact Us



Hoeven Announces FM Diversion Authorization

Sen. John Hoeven and The Chambers’ Business Leaders for Permanent Flood Protection Task Force announced the congressional authorization of the FM Diversion project on Friday, May 23, at the Fargo Moorhead West Fargo Chamber of Commerce. Video of the press conference is available onlinePhotos from the event are available online as well.

The passage of the Water Resources Reform and Development Act (WRRDA) is a critical step in securing federal funding for the FM Diversion Project, which will protect more than $23 billion in structures, 103,000 jobs, $2.77 billion in taxable sales and the lives of more than 200,000 residents. WRRDA authorizes the federal funding share of $846 million for the diversion project.

Fargo Mayor Dennis Walaker, Moorhead Councilwoman Nancy Otto, Diversion Authority Board Chair Darrell Vanyo and Task Force Chairmen Tom Dawson joined Hoeven in announcing the authorization.

“This is a major victory for our community,” said Chamber President and CEO Craig Whitney. It shows the national support this project has and recognizes the importance of this economy to the country. The Chamber and our business leaders task force is committed to seeing this project through to completion.”

In February 2013, The Chamber convened a task force of top leaders from our community’s major employers to advocate for permanent flood protection.

The business leaders were credited by city officials and North Dakota legislators as being the key to gaining the necessary support to secure state funding during the 2013 North Dakota Legislative Session.

The task force is represented on the Diversion Authority Board as well as the Diversion Authority Outreach committee and remains committed to ensuring the importance of comprehensive flood risk reduction stays on the forefront of the regions’ priorities.

© 2019 The Chamber | About Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | Premier Partners