About Us Directory Members Only Join Contact Us



Chamber Names Bruce Furness 2012 Legacy Leader

Fargo Moorhead, ND/MN (August 13, 2012) – The Fargo Moorhead West Fargo Chamber has named Bruce Furness the 2012 recipient of the Legacy Leader award. The Legacy Leader Award recognizes and emphasizes the important role and contributions of long time local leaders in both shaping and serving The Chamber, metropolitan community and region. Furness will receive the honor at The Chamber’s Second Annual Meeting on September 20 at the Holiday Inn of Fargo.

A Bismarck native, Furness is Fargo’s fourth longest-serving mayor. Furness served on the Fargo City Commission from 1992 to 1994 and went on to serve as mayor from 1994 to 2006. During his term of service, Fargo residents saw a great deal of growth, the redevelopment of downtown Fargo and dealt with a number of important issues, including flood protection during the Red River flood of 1997.

Furness served on the former Fargo Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors and was chair during the 1988-89 fiscal year. He was also actively involved in The Chamber’s Public Affairs committee and was an ambassador from 1999 to 2011. 

Furness will receive the Legacy Leader Award at The Chamber’s Second Annual Meeting on September 20 from 12 noon to 1:30 p.m. at the Holiday Inn of Fargo. Cost to attend the luncheon is $35. To register, visit FMWFChamber.com or call 218.233.1100.

Media is invited and encouraged to attend. Please contact Katie Hutton at 218.359.0526 or khutton@fmwfchamber.com for more information.

The Fargo Moorhead West Fargo Chamber of Commerce is a bi-state, regional federation of over 2,000 private, public and non-profit member firms representing more than 80,000 people. The largest local chamber in North Dakota and Minnesota, The Chamber advocates for a strong metropolitan community and supports the interests of its members, which are located in Cass and Clay Counties and beyond.



© 2019 The Chamber | About Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | Premier Partners